So it’s a ‘mental thing’, huh?

Posted: December 5, 2011 in Life in General

Yesterday I lamented the fact we in St. Louis were expecting some winter-type weather.  I have lived in Missouri most of my life, however the winter of last year was the worst I’ve ever experienced.  To make matters more depressing, our ‘all-star’ weather guy here made an extended forecast and said this winter would be even worse than last!  How much can a wannabe Conch take?

To battle and deny this upcoming winter, I’ve decided to take it up a notch and keep my mental approach fresh.  So, what do I do?  Saturday morning I’m outside in shorts and flip flops washing my wife’s car.  Yeah, it was 48 degrees but I’m trying to get this mental thing rolling, so I continued to concentrate (and made some trips inside to get pitchers of hot water to add to the bucket!).  Mission accomplished and no frostbite, just cold hands and toes.   I did get some odd looks from passers by, but I’m in a Key West state of mind.

I was honored today to see that the famous Key West Lou actually mentioned my post and blog!  I’ve read Lou for years (keywestlou.com), since 2008, and am an avid follower.  He takes me places I’ve never been in Key West and to familiar haunts as well.  Keeps me closer to the sights and activities around the island and for that I thank him for his insights and for providing that slice of life I dream of.  Also, his daughter operates a slick website selling unique gift items from Key West.  If you have someone in your life who enjoys kicking down Whitehead, stopping in for a cold one at Captain Tonys or likes hanging out the Cuban Coffee Queen, then viakeywest.com may have that cool holiday gift.  Check it out!

I’ve been asked ‘why Flamethrower’? It all comes back to my extroverted personality, my spectacular ability to talk and an opinionated quick wit.  Both my parents are introverts, rarely go out and do not enjoy anything social.  They come from a small town of about 700 people in soutwest Missouri and basically have lived there their entire lives.  I’ll tell you more about the town at some other point, but this whole environment contributed to their ‘keep things close’ mentality.  I, fortunately, didn’t get any of those genes and enjoy the art of conversation and flammable remarks.  Too often I’ve spoken before thinking, and have left scorched earth in my wake.  Hence the ‘Flamethrower’ moniker.

We bypassed the bad weather, just a frigid 36 degrees today with a high of 38 expected with no precip.  Could certainly be worse!

Later Cats!

Leave a Reply

