Hectic times!

Posted: December 8, 2011 in Life in General

What do they say about the best laid plans?  Well, once again our family was zapped by some unexpected scheduling conflicts last night that led to a total snafu for dinner and after-dinner activities.  My 14 yr old son is in a high school play requiring him to be at rehersal until 5pm every day.  I worked somewhat late last night and when I do that, commute times on the way home tend to be lengthy.  My wife, who was going to pick up the boy was also running late from her job as a 2nd grade teacher.  My 14 yr old daughter, who usually has dance class, did not last night.

The plan was to pick up the boy, grab a pizza on the way home, we all eat and head to a traditional Advent service.  Problem was the service began at 615pm.  Odd time and it just all fell apart.  My wife and son arrived home at 555p, I arrived at 558p, I had picked up a little specialty pizza for my daughter, my wife had picked up a bread bowl from Dominos for my son but neither of us got Mom & Dad any food!  So there we were, nothing planned and obviously no way to make it to church.

My wife ate some of my son’s stuff, I made a delicious frozen pizza and we ended the night by watching one of the best Christmas movies ever made, Elf!  I watch it every year and it still makes me belly laugh!  Will Farrell is fantastic and James Caan is perfect and the movie is just a great experience.  If you haven’t seen it, please do yourself a favor and rent it or buy it, you’ll be glad you did!

Going to work late today, have a dentist appointment.  Just a checkup and cleaning, nothing to worry about.

Hey, you’ve heard me talk about Key West Lou in this space.  Well, he does a weekly radio show from Key West that you can follow online every Friday!  I generally adjust my work schedule to ensure I don’t have any meetings at this time and sit back and enjoy.  Topics are all over the place, very interesting stuff and Lou has an intelligent and enjoyable perspective.  It’s well worth it and I’m sure you’ll become hooked like I did, so tomorrow at 10am EST (9am St. Louis time), check out www.konkbroadcasting.com

When we let my dog Annabelle out of her collar, she still tries to scratch the scabbed-over abrasion on the side of her neck, so looks like the collar will be on yet another day!  😦  Poor baby!!

Enjoy your Thursday, folks, tomorrow is our favorite day!!

Later Cats!

Leave a Reply

