Dec 22nd!

Posted: December 22, 2011 in American Government, Crisis in America, Life in General, Politics

The excitement of Christmas is still with my kids fortunately.  Ages of 14 (boy), 14(girl) and 19(girl) they are all still in school and enjoy the build up to the ‘big day’ and I think there is still a bit of magic regarding the whole season.

My ridiculously hot wife and I were chatting about this last night and neither she nor I feel we’re truly ready for Christmas.  Oh, the gifts are almost all bought and wrapped, cookies made, a few movies enjoyed but the feeling we used to get (the one the kids still have) just isn’t around anymore.  Problem is, we work, we ensure the house runs normally, kids get to where they are supposed to be, etc., so basically it’s almost like we don’t have time to decompress and allow the warmth of the season to envelop us.  Sad and every year that passes I say ‘next year I’m going to soak it in more’ and I never do.

So the past couple of days I’ve lamented over a few irritants from our government.  I received an e-mail from one of my good friends in Atlanta yesterday and it suggests we, as American citizens, should demand a constitutional reform and here it is:

Congressional Reform Act of  2011

1.   No Tenure / No  Pension.    A  Congressman collects a salary while in office and receives no pay when they are out of office.

2.   Congress (past, present & future) participates in Social Security. All funds in the Congressional retirement fund move to the Social Security system immediately.  All  future funds flow into the Social Security system, and Congress participates with the American people.  It may not be used for any other purpose.

3. Congress can purchase their own retirement plan, just as all Americans do.

4. Congress will no longer vote themselves a pay raise.  Congressional pay will rise by the lower of CPI or 3%.

5. Congress loses their current health care system and participates in the same health care system as the American people.

6. Congress must equally abide by all laws they impose on the American people.
7. All contracts with past and present Congressmen are void effective 1/1/12.    The American people did not make this contract with Congressmen.  Congressmen made all these contracts for themselves.   Serving in Congress is an honor, not a career.  The  Founding Fathers envisioned citizen legislators, so ours should serve their term(s), then go home and back to work.

And here’s Warren Buffett’s idea, so we’ll add that in as #8.  A balanced budget should be created and approved by the first 100 days of a congressional session.  If no balanced budget can be decided upon and enacted, there will be no opportunity for reelection for any member.

This was part of an e-mail that my buddy wanted me to send out to twenty people.  Well, I generally don’t do that kind of thing, but I certainly wanted to pass along the points in this reformation.  Your thoughts?

Tomorrow is the best day, Friday, and that means an opportunity to hear and see Key West Lou and his Legal Hour.  Check him out at 10am EST (Island Time) or 9am CST (St Louis Time) at http://www.konkbroadcasting.com/

Only 9 days remaining on my trek through INSANITY.  I’m already planning on continuing the Max workouts for another month.  It’s brutal and draining, but the results are real and good for the ego!  Another 30 days of the Max should push me to another level.  After that, I’m going to create my own workout by combining INSANITY and P90X as well as one day of running.  I may do that for 30 days and then back to INSANITY…..we’ll see how it goes.

I’m a big fan of New York City and Christmas in Manhattan is second to none.  Scenic beauty, the bustle and richness of the city sidewalks and a hectic serenity that you can’t find anywhere else.  Here’s a couple of pics of the day for you:

Christmas in Central Park!

Enjoy your Thursday, Cats!

Leave a Reply

