The road crews have now treated the highways and commutes are back to a semi-normal state.  Evidently the DOT thought 1-2 inches of snow wouldn’t cause much problems for drivers yesterday.  What they didn’t factor in were the 30+ mph winds that blew snow over the roads.  Cars drove on the snow, packed it down and with temps falling all day to around 18, the stuff became sheets of ice, especially on ramps & overpasses.  Yesterday’s traffic was said to have been the worst in St. Louis in decades.  Most commutes around town take around 20-30 minutes from jsut about anywhere.  Yesterday, all highways ended up being shut down for various periods for multi-car accidents and commutes averaged over 2.5 hours.  People were livid and the director of the Missouri DOT came out, hat in hand, and admitted they dropped the ball and didn’t plan properly.

My common cold took advantage of the day at home yesterday and I feel better today even after a night of coughing and irritated throat waking me up continuously.  My Friday is fairly light with only three meetings so I should survive!

My workouts are taking a beating over the last three days however.  With the junk in my chest and raw throat, there is no way I could make it through a cardio workout.   Looking to get back on the Insanity train tomorrow!  Just missing a couple days I feel fat already and I hate that feeling.

Divisional Playoff weekend coming up and some very interesting matchups.  Here are my kisses of death to the teams I choose/want to win:

Green Bay over the NYG…..San Fran over the dirty Saints…..Baltimore over Houston…..New England over Tebow and the Broncos.   So now we’ll see what happens!

My beautiful wife and I are headed to a trivia night tonight!  My son’s high school choir has an annual fundraiser and this is it.  We, and our friends, have a very good track record at this thing as we’ve won it three of the last four years.  We have a retired Navy & Marine pilot who is brilliant and his wife is someone who is deep into movie and entertainment trivia.  We also have a younger couple who gives us a slant on newer movies, music and social things and one other couple who just gets in the way with what they think they know.  We, in the past, have been nice to them and let them put in their answers only to get burned.  This year I’ll be the jackass and tell them to stuff their answers!

Music Video of the Day:  This is one of my favorite videos and a very catchy tune….Enjoy!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=56VPiS8dPDE

Also, make sure to catch Key West Lou and his Legal Hour coming up at 9am CST/10am Island  Time or EST.  http://www.konkbroadcasting.com/  And, as always, you can find out what Lou is up to by his daily blog on his Key West travels http://www.keywestlou.com/ as it’s a daily staple for me.

Have a great Friday, Cats!

Leave a Reply

